February 7, 2011

I’m starting to think I should have led the year off with an organization resolution.

I said in the last update that I’m already aware that I work pretty well within the confines of a schedule. Creating one is one of those things I’ve always said I’m going to do, but never get around to it. I just never felt like I had the time to sit down and make one up. Now that I actually don’t have much time for it (what with taking 3 classes and working full-time), it’s becoming a much larger hurdle to overcome.

I did take a few moments on Saturday to create a basic to-do list for the current week as well as outline the things I had scheduled that I could not play with. In between those, I put in a few ideas for things I could do in the meantime. It worked out pretty well, but wasn’t nearly as detailed as I was hoping. Must start somewhere though.

Considering that organizing myself should form the foundation of all resolutions to come, it really is a wonder that I didn’t go for it in January instead. In the long run it will work out fine because even though I didn’t end up creating a budget last month, the financial monitoring that I am doing now will give me a basis on which to create a much more coherent budget. All those charts and graphs really do help you understand your spending habits.

One thing I need to work hard on is that I always seem to get inspiration and energy at the most inopportune moments. Maybe walking down the hall at work, eating dinner at a restaurant, or when I’m about to go to bed. It’s during these times that I get ideas of things to do or get excited about working on those things. Exactly the times when I can’t do anything about it.

This is why I need a schedule. I need to force myself to sit down and focus on writing updates for the blog (for example), instead of waiting until the last minute before going to bed after a long day at classes and working on homework (seriously, I’ve done almost nothing else since 8:00 this morning).

Consciously, I know that I could fit 20 minutes here-and-there to work on some brainstorming or planning for the rest of the week. It’s very hard for me to get focused in that frame of mind though, which is really what this resolution is all about. Training myself to focus on what needs to get done and avoiding the procrastination that keeps me from doing it.

So while I haven’t managed to accomplish anything on my to-do list for this week, hey… at least it’s been made. Got to find satisfaction in the little things.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

